Vendredi 1e octobre - A l’aéroport (Part 2)

Publié le par Esmeralda, en SVE, en Ukraine

 

So 5Am, I check in at SAS desk with my carefully constructed luggages which all slightly exceed the allowed amount (21kgs main luggage, 9kgs carry-on baggage plus a laptop bag and a handbag which should easily add another 6kgs).

Luckily for me and as Eoin’s housemate (Swede Ingemar experienced in flying with Scandinavian Airlines of course) told me, they have a 10% tolerance threshold and they actually do not weigh the carry-on baggage.

It all goes well (“comme une lettre à la poste”, lettre que je devais poster à Anca avec mes coûts visa et que j’ai oubliée une fois passé la sécurité et qu’une gentille dame de « flight care » postera pour moi aujourd’hui) at the start but was close to turning grim.

Sometimes when you’re too far ahead (too much time on your hands) you start growing careless, and so I had registered in my little dyslexic head that my flight departed from Gate 47 when it was in fact gate 57.

It never occurred to me to check the screen that stated “Frankfurt” instead of “Copenhagen” (my flight was not direct to Kiev) and I comfortably installed myself to enjoy my pre-packed breakfast, while listening to an old man playing guitar right behind me. I was only saved from missing the plane by the final call stating me name (amongst others, who never boarded, pfffiuu!!)

Another distraction had been the presentation of the new Hybrid Auris with huge Toyota signs all over, which I couldn’t resist photographing for Eoin. It seems that cars are strewn over my pathway as reaching Copenhagen airport, I see a bright red Ferrari as the tax-free prize of a lottery…(snap! another picture for Eoin J

 Other noticeable things in the Danish airport: an assistance service for disabled and elderly which consists of little cars driving around the place a large quantity of children prams for the grab. You get that sense of Scandinavian efficiency when you see they keep a list at each toilet of each time they are checked… My personal favourite is the little sticker on the paper towels dispenser reminding us trees are cut in order to make them and therefore to use them with parsimony (see photos).

It’s a long wait then at CPH airport as I arrived @ 8.30AM and I am still waiting 11.15 to board the flight. Little concern: for some strange reason I thought wise to travel euro-less since I’ll be handed my pocket money in KIEV airport by my pick-up. However, even previously expensive airlines like SAS no longer provide a free meal during flight (which is outrageous since my flight is 11.15 to 2.35PM, clearly during lunchtime!) which means I should buy food here…in Danish Kroner!

So now I’m torn between buying something and being left with useless pocket schrapnel or go hungry till KIEV…My last minute decision is I’ll go see whether I can pay with bank card @ a shop more than a café. I’ve finished my blog update and I’m still left with a good 45 min. before boarding commences.

The inconvenient is I’m sitting by the gate where I’d found a plug for my computer and now I’d have to go all the way back to the shops…Well, humans started off as hunters-gatherers, so off I go, to find my roots ;)

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article